Skip to content

Fall Imagery Poetry

leaves

Today we pulled from the Signs of Fall writing the students worked on this week for homework, and created fall imagery poetry! We used Walt Whitman’s “I Hear America Singing” poem as a mentor text, and reviewed how imagery in writing uses descriptive language to help to evoke our senses in order to give us a clear picture of what an author (or poet) is trying to share. We then looked at an example of a fall imagery poem based on Whitman’s free verse and style, and the students tried their hand at creating their own. The result was FANTASTIC! The students used a template with five leaf outlines (one for each sense) and really got into using descriptive language! We’ll finish this up on Monday, and then cut out the leaves to create a vertical fall imagery poem that we can display. Until then, here’s a sampling of the great imagery the students demonstrated with their poems:

“I taste the hot cocoa inside. It tastes like eating clouds with the marshmallows.”
“I see leaves falling off trees, they float and twirl while they dance.”
“I hear the laughter from the children playing in the freshly fallen, crunchy leaves.”
“I feel the warmth of the mug in my hands as I drink the cider that I love.”
“I can smell the air changing to a fresh scent with a hint of fireplaces burning.”

Published inUncategorized

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar